The Rhode Island Wild Plant Society, Inc., is a nonprofit conservation organization dedicated to the preservation and protection of Rhode Island’s native plants and their habitats.

The RIWPS Board of Trustees meets on the 2nd Thursday every other month (Mar-May-Jul-Sept-Nov-Jan).

Members are welcome to attend. Contact for specific time and location of the meeting.


The RI Wild Plant Society gives out awards to honor the good work of our volunteers. We value their contributions.

Volunteer of the Year Award
This award is given to a Rhode Island Wild Plant Society member who has unfailingly dedicated their efforts toward the betterment of the Society as a whole.

2005 – Garry Plunkett
2006 – Kim Bothelo & Barney Webster
2007 – Mary Lou Upham
2008 – Patricia Cahalan & Cynthia Gianfrancesco
2009 – Bob & Shirley Anderson
2010 – Christine Kalina
2011 – Marcia Pena
2012 – Graham Laird Gardner
2013 – Roy Jeffrey and Susan Marcus
2014 – Paula Morrissey
2015 – Kevin Alverson
2016 – Helen Drew
2017 – Linda McDaniel
2018 – Sandra Jacobi

Board Members



Dick Fisher

Vice President

Mary Lou Upham


Brian Maynard


Mary O’Connor


Elizabeth Dickson
Amanda Freitas
Jonathan Knight
Susan Marcus
Linda McDaniel
Susan Shuster
Dorothy Swift
Anne Raver
John Wilson